Mum it’s Easter Holidays, What are we doing today?

So today it really feels like holiday time, after what seems like weeks of warm sunshine, we were wearing t-shirts and sandals and legs had been uncovered and made presentable, toenails painted a lovely shade of shocking red, then bam the weather turned, rain yesterday and freezing cold today.

The girls made a tent/ den in the front room this morning then abandoned it, leaving bedding and soft toys strewn across the floor, within minutes the local wildlife had taken up residence (that’s a whippet and two cats jostling for the softest spot) Tom the eldest is trying to wrestle his sisters every 10 minutes who just scream and cry which seems to delight their brother and encourage ever more extreme forms of torture. Oh how I love the holidays!!

We had Sadie’s birthday on the weekend, a shopping trip for the birthday girl on Monday and a trip to see Pirates at the cinema yesterday. Today I needed to wind down a little and sort out a few orders that needed to be posted, but kids don’t wind down ….  ever!!!

But venturing out with the kids can be equally fraught with the three children fighting non stop it’s like walking down the street with several Tasmanian devils whirly gigging around me. We did however have a lovely time at the movies, the film was great although I did accidentally fall asleep through the middle section, oops! Before that the children had begged to go to Kentucky fried chicken, I can’t remember ever going before but thought it would probably be ok ….hmmmm, overpriced greasy chicken of unknown origin is not my idea of fun but the kids seemed happy.

We squeezed in around a small table that was fixed to the floor, this was made even more tricky by the family on the next table who’s two teenage children wouldn’t move their chairs in at all, not particularly surprised until I realised they were with their mum who said nothing to them. I was collecting our drinks thinking I’m going to have to ask them nicely to pull their chairs in a bit when I turned to see the mother pointing at me and the teenagers turning to have a look. As I approached our table I heard the end of their conversation about ‘never wearing anything like that’ and I decided it was probably best to leave this rude family to their ignorance, eat up and get out as quickly as possible.

My outfit was colourful but not particularly outlandish, yellow lace skirt, red & white blouse, petrol blue cardigan, orange/red tights, green polka dot scarf and peroxide hair with flower Barrett’s, I know it probably sounds a little Ott but I thought I looked ok. I wasn’t really offended on a personal level, I’m a big girl, it just felt a little depressing, that people are so fearful of anything a little different, and i suppose because it was a mother teaching her children to be rude and small minded. Later in the day the young woman behind the counter in Foyles bookshop commented on how much she loved my outfit, which was really sweet and of course illustrated the gaping social chasm between KFC and Foyles, still I know where I’ll be hanging out in the future.

3 thoughts on “Mum it’s Easter Holidays, What are we doing today?

  1. sounds ever delightful! most of the ones who say things -outloud to others even- are the ones who don’t have enough courage or confidence to do it….and that is what makes them sad. they notice it and know they can’t accomplish it themselves.

  2. Hi Manon Maybe I’ll post pictures someday, in truth I probably look as mad as some of my dolls!

    Thank you Becky, I think because I love people watching and all the millions of variations we come in I just assume everyone feels the same.

    Actually the family refusing to move their chairs to allow us to sit down was more upsetting than their opinions on how I looked. But hey ho it’s another day and I have an even brighter outfit planned for tomorrow:)

Leave a Reply

