Four sisters & a cat called Miss Mouse

This is Miss Mouse a little circus cat just listed here in my Etsy shop. She is a painted wooden doll inspired by Japanese Kokeshi dolls. As a child my mum lived in Japan for a while and during this time she collected Kokeshi dolls. When I was growing up I was completely fascinated by these little painted dolls some as small as a penny, I can remember begging my mum to get the dolls out and show me, I think the tiny ones were kept in a matchbox.

The four clay doll brooches are finished and also listed in my shop

 

3 thoughts on “Four sisters & a cat called Miss Mouse

  1. Really delightful – the knitted bonnet on the cat is all too much for me. And if those four sisters got in a cat-fight, I’d put my money on ginge… she has a glint in her eye that looks like trouble…

Leave a Reply

