Hope

This week I’m working on completing several dolls that have waited since before christmas. There is still quite a lot of work to do but I’m happy with the way they are progressing. When completed these will be free-standing sculptural pieces, I’m hoping to concentrate on several gallery shows this year. I will continue to create work for my Etsy shop like the art bibs that I’m also really pleased with, pictured below are the completed mountain scene bib and a kissing lips in progress. Alongside these works I will continue to paint and produce one-off art pieces.

I have just sent eight dolls off to the USA for a group exhibition and have a couple of other events in the pipeline for the beginning of this year. Creatively I feel strong but  I also know I’m running out of time as a practicing artist, lack of money is pushing me to the limits of endurance, poverty equals exhaustion and depression, with three children to feed and clothe there is nothing romantic about starving for your art.

I was talking to someone recently who had fairly strong opinions about ‘the poor’ along the lines of, in a world with diminishing resources the undeserving, lazy, criminal lower ranks of humanity should be cut loose. For a moment or two I was stunned, I actually felt physical pain in my chest, not so much by the unexpected comments but by the realisation that my family and I are living that life of terrifying poverty, I am neither lazy nor criminally minded but find myself in stricken circumstances, however I still consider myself very privileged, I am educated and I have Hope, something many people do not have. It is very easy to pass judgement, often out of fear, I often do so myself, although less and less as I gain a broader and often painful experience of the world. Anyone living in poverty without education and without hope is existing in a very dark place.

I’ve travelled a bit off topic there, anyway education = hope, I’m off to collect the kids from school.

4 comments

  1. Jess, Your work is so special and beautiful. Looking at it fills me with a unique kind of joy. I am happy to read of your hope. I wish you a very prosperous year, and I hope your struggles never weigh to heavily on your art-making. Also, I am really looking forward to seeing your work.

    Best,
    Nichol

  2. Your Hope is definitely inspiring to the many of us out there that have things we love to do, but chose to (or are forced to) work other jobs to pay the bills. I also have Hope that more people like you, which are making beautiful handmade items, are able to live from their artwork. Thanks for writing about this.

  3. Hi Nichol, thank you so much, my dolls should be in Indiana very soon, left here on the 18th. Really looking forward to seeing images of the exhibition, hope it all go’s really well, best wishes, Jess.

    Thank you Amanda, I was a stay at home mum for 12 years and with no career to fall back on when I became a single parent I had to think really hard about what I could do, I was lucky enough to find animation model making work, but not enough to pay the bills! So I have chosen to pursue my Art, the theory being, this is what I do best therefor it has to succeed!! The upside is I am not actually sacrificing a wage to do this, no hard decisions on down sizing, the only way has always been UP!

    Thank you Elisa, I have a good feeling about 2012 :)


Leave a Reply

