First work of 2012

The 2012 pin is the last thing I made in 2011, the Little Pink Clown is the first of 2012. I made 31 of the 2012 pins pictured above as favours for the guests at my friend Penny’s new years eve party, it was a lovely evening themed as early 60s Paris, Penny & Mark put so much work into the evening I was glad to be able to add my small contribution. I am starting the year by incorporating some of my printed drawings into wearable art works, a sort of bib necklace to wear with anything, t-shirts, blouses, jumpers or dresses. They are bigger and bolder than my brooches, lots of fun and hand sewn using vintage and new, wool, felt, fake leather, ribbon, pompoms, sequins, I’m not thinking too hard about it, just letting the ideas flow. Each piece will be entirely one-off. I was inspired by my latest issues of British Vogue and Elle to be more confident about transferring my art to wearable pieces, I love what Marc Jacobs has done at louis Vuitton for spring. And Prada of course. Both explore sweet, pretty femininity with vintage references, Marc Jacobs with pretty baby pastel colours, exaggerated collars and buttons, over sized broderie anglaise, all a bit women dressed as confection, candy floss and soft sugared bonbons  but it’s a bit mad and a lot of fun, Miuccia Prada pushes at our perceptions of women as sweet, pretty possessions, adding in  a vintage cars theme with Cadillac shoes and 50s inspired prints of go faster flames. Beautiful coats, Car printed dresses, killer heels and knife pleated skirts, love it all.

The first image is of a little pink clown, soft colours, pretty and a little sad maybe, clowns always have an aura of tragedy I think. The second evolved out of a scrap of rose printed fabric and I think has grown into a tribute to Frida Khalo, not too serious though, I like the irreverence of the rosy little cartoon face among the pompoms and lace. Below is a white sweetheart bib with large pompoms and a slightly retro 1950s pinny vibe going on. At a practical level I’ve used soft silky ribbons to tie around the neck and backed the works with soft fleece to make them as comfortable as possible to wear.

Next to take shape is my little black-hearted vixen, she is most definitely misunderstood, I’m also working on some smaller necklaces that may hang on a chain or chord, these are the bear and rabbit heads, similar to some of my smaller brooches. And still waiting for a final dash of inspiration before I can finish them the little hand painted boxes that inspired my 2012 pins (the theme was early 60s so I was looking at rather kitsch illustrations, the kind found in women’s magazines of this era) last are some christmas decorations the girls and I made, the last crafty activity of 2011 apart from the 1960s inspired 2012 pins (pictured at the top of post) of which 31 were completed by 6.30pm on the 31st Dec 2011. I’m taking ages to put this post together, out of practice and a head full of cold slowing me down, I’ll leave it here and get back to work.

2 thoughts on “First work of 2012

Leave a Reply

